Carried away

In the beginning, I had a plan. As I live near the forest edge and the back garden looks out onto woodland, I’d meant to keep the areas further away from the house to have more of a woodland garden feel. A wild rose hedge all round to furnish the birds with plentiful hips in the autumn and flowers for the bees and other insects. Blue and white hydrangeas and foxgloves popping up at random here and there. Closer to the house I wanted more colour  and in autumn planted species and lily-flowered tulips in pots, to be moved later when I know the conditions of the garden better. Then I thought of creating a wildflower meadow: that’s when I got carried away. And how!

NACHTIGALLENWEG WILDFLOWER SEED PACKETS_7754

Friends donated seeds to add to my one packet. I sowed them all in one day, and now have a glut of seedlings to transplant. The first seed box took me 2 hours, but happily  learned not to cosset these “wildlings,” and the next 4 boxes were more rapidly transplanted. I’ve got more lupines and flax to sow to create the sea of blue that I have in mind, but I won’t be using seed boxes for them.  I’ve learned my first lesson in Wildflower Gardening 101: I need patience to transplant so many tiny seedlings, and of that rare quality, I have yet to grow more of.

How do more seasoned wildflower gardeners do it, I wonder, short of buying ready-sown wildflower “carpets?”  Or had I sown my seeds  too late?

 

 

Leave a Reply

