Year of Grace, Day 9. Thankfulness is happiness

Thankfulness is happiness, and happiness is thankfulness. Why? How so? It was not until I started writing down my daily thank-yous that I noticed that the things that make me glad, the things that make me happy, just happen to be the things that I am thankful for.

The shy-flowering morning glory among the bamboo

The shy-flowering morning glory among the bamboo

I am thankful that the morning glory among the bamboo has had another bloom. I find it interesting that I am more excited about the flowers from this plant that has been such a shy flowerer than those on the morning glories that have been more generous with their blooms.

Yesterday evening, a very dear friend surprised me most pleasantly by dropping by. She had brought with her some Iranian delicacies made of rose petals. I anticipate having one of these rose-perfumed sweets with my morning coffee or perhaps my afternoon tea. Just the thought of the scent of roses is enough to fill me with joy. I am grateful for my thoughtful friend and her welcome surprise visit, and as well for her lovely gift.

The sun cooperated with gardening work yesterday afternoon, and I am thankful that I was able to clear the stinging nettle. Some of them at least. A kind colleague had come to carry out tree pruning and for this I am indeed most grateful. The cornelian cherry has had its trunk released of wild vines. The laburnum is now looking smarter without its dead branches. The amelanchier too has been given a badly needed trim. This back corner has been dark and airless, the trees choked by the wild clematis (also known as Old Man’s Beard ) and ivy. I am so happy and thankful to have had this area cleared, and it seems to me that the trees and bushes there, looking ever so much happier now that they are not so encumbered, also join me in a collective outpouring of relief and of thanks.

For me, yesterday has been filled with instances of happiness and kindness and thoughtfulness, and of beauty too. For all of these, I am grateful. For me, happiness is thankfulness, and thankfulness is happiness indeed.

2 thoughts on “Year of Grace, Day 9. Thankfulness is happiness

  1. Did you know that in aromatherapy, jasmine and rose essential oils are used to treat depression? These oils, however, are some of the most expensive essential oils. How nice to have friends that bring such nice treats over. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, that’s really nice to know, Murasaki Shikibu. Thank you! I adore jasmine and rose oils. Joy, one of the most expensive perfumes, is based on jasmine, I believe. The scents given off by a rose garden, such as that of the famous English rose breeder Austin, on a summer’s day is truly heaven!

      Like

Leave a Reply

