Year of Grace, Day 90. Just for today, let go of anger

This is one of the secrets –- the first of five — to happiness and well-being, according to Reiki, a Japanese way of healing through the laying of hands. These five secrets or ideals constitute what Reiki founder, Mikao Usui, calls his mysterious way of inviting happiness (招福の秘法) and the spiritual healing of all ills (万病の霊薬)。He refers to Reiki as mind-body improvement 心身改善 (shinshin kaizen). The term kaizen would be familiar to most as the business management concept of continuous improvement.

Calligraphy by Mikao Usui, Reiki founder

Calligraphy by Mikao Usui, Reiki founder

 

The first five lines, counted from the right and read top to bottom, include the five secrets, translated below.

招福の秘法 The secret or mysterious way to inviting happiness Shoufuku no hihou
万病の霊薬 Spiritual healing of diverse diseases Manbyou no reiyaku
今日だけは Just for today Kyoudake wa
怒るな Do not be angry Okoru na
心配すな Do not worry Shinpai suna
感謝して Be thankful Kansha shite
業をはげめ Work hard Gyou o hageme
人に親切に Be kind to people Hito ni shinsetsu ni

My friend Hong Ching, who recently visited me from Malaysia and is a practitioner of Reiki, very kindly treated me to two sessions. I have been ill since just before Christmas and although I have had two antibiotic regimes that have cleared most of the physiological symptoms, I have some lingering feelings of malaise. I knew nothing about Reiki before, and I forebore to ask, preferring to let everything be revealed in practice.

I lay on my back, closed my eyes, and after a period of silence, Hong Ching proceeded to lay hands lightly on my head, behind my neck, on my chest, upper and lower abdomen, knees, and ankles. What I felt was the warmth of her palms, despite being fully clothed and covered with a light blanket. It was at my knees that I got a startling sensation of a current running back and forth from one knee to the other.

It was incredible and amazing to feel this unexpected sensation. The entire session took about 40 minutes. When Hong Ching asked how I felt, I commented on the remarkable “current” that I felt flowing between my knees, and also of my mind feeling extremely light — almost afloat —  at that time. The second session, after a few days, concentrated on areas that Hong Ching sensed needed more attention – the front of my throat especially. It was afterwards that I mentioned my thyroid problem, and the thyroid is located precisely there.

The incredible and unexpected sensation of a “current” flowing from one knee to the other led me to find out more about Reiki after Hong Ching had left. And I learned that the knees are considered junction points of energy in the body.

Last night as usual, I woke up in the middle of the night and couldn’t fall back into sleep. Normally I take up a book to read –- something rather heavy-going that will lull me back into slumber, not something too interesting or exciting. I decided to put my hands on the same positions as during the Reiki sessions with Hong Ching. Before doing so, I silently repeated the ideals above, which I had learned from the Reiki International website on how to do Reiki for self- healing. Eventually I felt relaxed and sleepy again and later woke refreshed in the morning.

Today I am grateful for my encounter with Reiki and deeply thankful to my friend Hong Ching for introducing Reiki and to the two exceedingly helpful sessions. I have always appreciated reading about the role of the mind in the process of healing, but never until last night have I set out to practise mind-body healing on myself in earnest. For this insight and the lovingkindness of my friend Hong Ching, I am truly thankful.

Please note that Reiki, following Japanese tradition, is transmitted from teacher to student, and I would not presume to regard myself as a practitioner nor would I practise on anyone else but myself at this point. For more information on Reiki, please click here. As well, please note that I am using Reiki as a complement to the medical treatment provided by my extremely capable family doctor, who also happens to be a very dear friend.

My translation and modified version of the classic Reiki affirmation is this:

Today, let go of anger,

let go of worry,

be thankful,

work with integrity,

be kind to all of creation — all living beings and the earth,

including yourself.

To anyone who is in need of healing, who needs a boost in well-being, and who needs an invitation to contentment, if not happiness, perhaps there is something in these ideals that may be of help. Just for today.

2 thoughts on “Year of Grace, Day 90. Just for today, let go of anger

  1. I am glad to hear that this has helped you feel much better. I have tried Reiki (in London) and it didn’t seem to help me much, but it could either be that the practitioner was not very adept or I as the receiving vessel of the Reiki created barriers to being a good recipient. I am sorry to hear that you are still ailing. I hope you feel much better soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

