Year of Grace, Day 132. Spring’s succession of colours

I find it interesting that the earliest of spring flowers to bloom are white and blue, then yellow, followed by pink. I’ve often wondered why that is so. I would venture that it is co-evolution at work here — the pollinators of these precocious spring bloomers dictate the succession of colours, and vice versa. Which came first is difficult to say. I say “venture” because at this hour of the morning, I am not up to doing any research, online or otherwise. But please feel free to write in and share any relevant scientific explanation — this (momentarily) lazy but always curious gardener would be very much in your debt.

At Bonn’s Botanical Garden, following on from the white snowdrops and blue crocuses, tiny blue stars are blooming at the foot of shrubby peonies, mingling with white and pale pink wind anemones. Although these are not as spectacular as English bluebells, nevertheless they are equally lovely, and from afar, look like slices of sky flung randomly about.

When I lived in Dottendorf, there was a flower bed lovingly tended by my neighbour under a huge Kanzan cherry tree, and I looked forward eagerly to it every spring. Her design began as strictly blue and white, and I admired it very much. Over the years, she added yellow accents. I miss the joy of seeing this enchanting spring flower bed. I could never be as rigorous in limiting the colours in my own garden.  But I do love and admire how other gardeners can be so disciplined.

2 thoughts on “Year of Grace, Day 132. Spring’s succession of colours

  1. Someone asked my mother a similar question about why yellow flowers bloomed first. I don’t think she had an answer for this and perhaps there isn’t one since in your area the blue & white ones bloom first!

    Like

Leave a Reply

